UPDATE: Dale Earnhardt Jr. says he's confident that NASCAR will understand what caused Aric Almirola's injury last weekend at Kansas Speedway and said he talked to Almirola about the crash Wednesday night.
"I talked to Aric (Wednesday) night and he said when his car went in the air, both rear springs fell out of the car so the car came back down and hit the frame,'' Earnhardt said. "He said it was the highest recorded G-force vertically that they've ever seen. I can imagine that if the car slams down on the chassis.''
A NASCAR source told NBC Sports that it could not confirm that the springs were knocked out of the car. Rear coil springs must be tethered to the chassis and truck trailing arm by a fiber cable, according to section 184.108.40.206 of the NASCAR Cup Rule Book.
Richard Petty Motorsports confirmed to NBC Sports that NASCAR still has Almirola's wrecked # 43 car as its investigation continues.
-- NBC Sports --
Original post: 5-15-2017 NASCAR officials will do a thorough inspection of the #43 Ford of driver Aric Almirola following the Richard Petty Motorsports driver's fiery crash during Saturday's Go Bowling 400 at Kansas Speedway.
"It's currently at the (NASCAR) R&D Center, and our safety experts will ... look for anything that might give us clues or some indication of exactly what the challenge was there with Aric and his back," Scott Miller, NASCAR Senior Vice President of Competition, said Monday morning on "The Morning Drive" on SiriusXM NASCAR.
"I'm certain they'll interview him and ask him about all the particulars of how tight his belts were and all the rest of that.
"When we have these situations or even situations where someone doesn't get hurt, we really like to investigate as best as possible into the accident and see how we can get better."
Miller praised the work of the safety crews and medical personnel.
"To take the precautions that they did, fortunately Aric was able to talk with them over there and explain the situation so they acted accordingly and we were really happy with the way all that went," he said.
-- NASCAR.com --